The Board of Trustees


The Board of Trustees is responsible for commenting on the annual scientific activities report, the annual business report and the annual financial report and afterwards to absolve the Board of Directors. Pending the approval of the Ministries of Culture and Finance, the Board of Trustees is responsible for setting the budget. It also votes on amendments to the bylaws and sets the agenda.

Members of the Board of Trustees are appointed by the Ministry of Education, Science and Continued Education. Since 2015 the President of Trier University has been acting as the Chairman of the Board. The following persons compose the Board of Trustees:


Prof. Dr. Michael Jäckel

Chairman of the Board and President of Trier University

Prof. John T. Addison

Hugh C. Lane Professor of Economic Theory, University of South Carolina, USA

Prof. Dr. Karen M. Anderson

University of Southampton, UK

Prof. Dr. Eberhard Feess

Frankfurt School of Finance and Management, Germany

Prof. Matthew Finkin

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

Prof. Dr. Maximilian Fuchs

Catholic University Eichstätt-Ingolstadt, Deutschland

Prof. Dr. József Hajdú

Juristische Fakultät, Szeged University, Hungary

Dr. Daniela Heinemann

Ministerium für Bildung, Wissenschaft, Weiterbildung und Kultur, Mainz, Deutschland

Renate Hornung-Draus

BDA, Department European Union and International Social Politics, Germany

Prof. Dr. Sudabeh Kamanabrou

Bielefeld University, Germany

Dr. Norbert Kluge

Hans-Böckler-Foundation, Dusseldorf, Deutschland

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Joachim Möller

Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung (IAB), Germany

Prof. Birgitta Nyström

Lunds Universität, Sweden

Prof. Anthony Ogus

University of Manchester, Great Britain

Prof. Dr. Hilmar Schneider

CEPS / INSTEAD, Luxemburg

Jutta Steinruck

Member of the European Parliament, Ludwigshafen, Germany


The Advisory Board

The Advisory Board confers on issues concerning endowments, especially the planning of more extensive research projects and the direction of research in general. The directors inform the Advisory Board, according to the bylaws of the endowment, of their decisions. The Advisory Board counsels the directors and adjudicates differences of opinion between them as well as assisting in their appointment. Since 2012 the Advisory Board consists of the following professors from Trier University:


Prof. Dr. Conny Herbert Antoni

Faculty I   - Dept. for Industrial-Organisational Psychology, Chairman

Prof. Dr. Axel Adam-Müller

Faculty IV - Business Administration

Prof. Dr. Uwe Jirjahn

Faculty IV - Economics

Prof. Dr. Thomas Raab

Faculty  V - Law

Prof. Dr. Peter Reiff

Vice Dean of Faculty V - Law



The Board of Directors

The Board of Directors consists of Prof. Dr. Monika Schlachter as representative for legal studies and Prof. Dr. Laszlo Goerke as representative of economic studies. Prof. Schlachter is the current executive.